Campus Leadership & Administration

Senior Administrators

The University of British Columbia is one university with two main campuses—one located in Vancouver and the other in Kelowna in the Okanagan Valley.

Senior leaders from throughout the UBC system report to UBC President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Benoit-Antoine Bacon. The senior administrator for the Okanagan campus is Lesley Cormack, Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

Dr. Benoit-Antoine Bacon, President and Vice-Chancellor

The role of the President is to provide oversight and direction for the operation of the university, in accordance with the strategic framework and directions of our governing bodies, the Board of Governors and the Senates. Members of the President’s Executive group include:

Dr. Lesley Cormack, Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

The Principal and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the Okanagan campus provides overall leadership for UBC in the Okanagan and is a member of the UBC system executive leadership team, reporting to the President. Key internal functions include:

  • Ensuring an effective organizational structure that reflects campus operational needs;
  • Leading strategic planning based on the imperatives outlined in the UBC strategic plan and campus vision documents;
  • Ensuring strategic allocation and stewardship of resources for a sustainable financial plan.

The Principal works externally to foster effective relationships for the campus and the university at the local, national and international levels.

Dr. Rehan Sadiq, Provost and Vice-President Academic, UBC Okanagan 

The Provost and Vice-President Academic, UBC Okanagan is responsible for academic leadership and administration for the Okanagan campus, providing direction in planning, policy development and resource management to achieve the university’s strategic goals. (The Provost and Vice-President Academic, UBC Vancouver oversees the academic functions of UBC’s Vancouver campus).

The Provost and Vice-President Academic, UBC Okanagan provides leadership for the Okanagan campus’ nine faculties and schools, including Arts and Social Sciences, Creative and Critical Studies, Education, Engineering, Graduate Studies, Health and Social Development, Management, Medicine and Science. Also reporting to the Provost are:

Dr. Philip Barker, Associate Vice-President and Vice-Principal Research & Innovation

The Vice-Principal Research and Innovation is responsible for providing leadership and direction on all research matters on the Okanagan campus.

The Vice-Principal works to deepen the research and innovation culture on campus and build the structure and relationships necessary to increase research and innovation capacity, as well as advocate for the university’s research and innovation mission. Included in the responsibilities for this role are oversight of the University Industry Liaison Office, the Office of Research Services and the research institutes at the Okanagan campus.

Dr. Barker serves in the dual role of AVP Research and Innovation for the UBC system and Vice-Principal Research and Innovation for the Okanagan campus.

Dale Mullings, Associate Vice-President Students

The Associate Vice-President Students leads a portfolio which creates programs that aim to improve student success, facilitate program connections between students and their academic units, and build institutional affinity. The Students portfolio includes the following areas:


Rob Einarson, Associate Vice-President Finance and Operations

The Associate Vice-President Finance and Operations provides leadership in financial and operational areas of the Okanagan campus and is a member of the UBC system financial team. This diverse portfolio includes:


Marten Youssef, Associate Vice-President University Relations

The Associate Vice-President, University Relations leads a portfolio that creates experiences and content that increases engagement and affinity with strategic audiences and raises the profile of UBC Okanagan. University Relations helps convey UBCO’s story through campus-wide ceremonies and events, communications and marketing, community engagement, and media relations and supports the goals of administration, faculties and departments. The portfolio includes:


Adrienne Vedan, Senior Advisor to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor on Indigenous Affairs

The Senior Advisor to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor on Indigenous Affairs position was created as a part of the university’s response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action. In September 2019, UBC Okanagan committed to supporting and implementing five recommendations received from the Aboriginal Advisory Committee to the DVC regarding meaningful support for reconciliation.

The Senior Advisor challenges UBC Okanagan to meet even higher aspirations related to Indigenous affairs and community relationships. The Senior Advisor to the DVC plays a pivotal role in building consistent, open channels of communication with faculty, staff and students, Indigenous communities, senior leadership, and those involved in Indigenous programming and initiatives.

Okanagan Campus Deans

Dr. James Olson, Dean
Faculty of Applied Science; School of Engineering (Dr. Will Hughes, Director)

Dr. Silvia Tomášková, Dean
Irving K. Barber Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Dr. Bryce Traister, Dean
Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies

Dr. Jan Hare, Dean pro tem
Faculty of Education; Okanagan School of Education (Dr. Margaret Macintyre Latta, Director)

Dr. Peter Simpson, Dean
College of Graduate Studies

Dr. Marie Tarrant, Dean
Faculty of Health and Social Development

Dr. Sandy Hilton, Dean pro tem
Faculty of Management

Dr. Lael Parrott, Dean pro tem 
Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science

Dr. Sarah McCorquodale, Regional Associate Dean, Interior
Southern Medical Program (Faculty of Medicine)